Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Undergraduate Program in Sociology

sociology classroom


Academic Advisor: Ms. Kathy Lou (706-542-3192)

Undergraduate Coordinator: Dr. Anna Rogers

Welcome to the Department of Sociology. We are a department of approximately nineteen full-time faculty, and we are part of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. On this page, you will find information about the major, the double-major, and the minor in sociology. If you cannot find the answer to your question on this website, please e-mail Ms. Kathy Lou or visit the Sociology Department's Advising Office in 113B Baldwin Hall.


How do I declare a Sociology Major or Minor?

Students who wish to declare sociology as their major or minor can do so in Athena.  The department strongly advises all students considering majors or minors in Sociology to email our departmental advisor, Kathy Lou at before making their declaration.